Permanent Secretary
Navigate Up
Sign In

Permanent Secretary

An image of the Permanent Secretary for the Ministry for Health, Mr. Joseph Chetcuti 
Mr Joseph Chetcuti was born on the 28th of February, 1964, and he is married with two daughters.

He studied at St Paul's Missionary College and the University of Malta, graduating with a Diploma in Public Administration.

Mr Chetcuti joined the Public Service as a Customs Assistant, in the Customs Department, in 1986, at the age of 22, followed by an upward path to Customs Officer, in 1993, Inspector of Customs, in 2007, and Senior Inspector of Customs, in 2013.

In 2014, he was appointed Director (Excise), within the Customs Department. Two years later, in 2016, Mr Chetcuti was apponted Director General (Customs), stirring in the Department a comprehensive change programme, promulgating a business strategy underpinned by a customer-centric vision, without compromising the overall supply chain security.

Mr Chetcuti has participated in meetings organised by the World Customs Organisation (WCO) for Heads of Customs Authorities and actively participated in numerous EU Customs Union events, some of which hosted by Malta. In fact, standing out among such conferences was the High Level Seminar for Tax and Customs Administrations held in Malta in 2017.

At Customs, through continuous communication and awareness, putting to the fore the Department's achievements and successes, Mr Chetcuti has significantly increased the Department's visibility and imbued, within the Department's personnel, a sense of belonging and a change of culture that has now resulted in the staff doing away with the archaic silo mentality and enjoying a new feeling of pride.

Mr Chetcuti served also on the National Maritime Security Committee, the Aviation Security Committee, the Sanctions Monitoring Board, the Steering Committee for the Office of the Commissioner for Revenue and the National Coordinating Committee on Combatting Money-Laundering & Funding of Terrorism.

Mr Chetcuti was appointed Permanent Secretary in the Ministry for Health on 7th April, 2022.​