Pharmacy Council - Composition
Navigate Up
Sign In

Pharmacy Council - Composition

The Pharmacy Council's main function is to regulate the Pharmacy Profession in the interests of the general public. 

Law Part III, Article 15 of the Health Care Professions Act, 2003 

Appointed until 17th July 2023

President Appointed by the Prime Minister:
  • Dr. Joseph Chetcuti LL.D. 

Pharmacist Appointed by the Prime Minister:
  • Mr. Reginald Fava BPharm, M.P.S. (UK)

Pharmacist Appointed by the University of Malta:
  • ​Prof. Lilian M. Azzopardi BPharm, MPhil, Ph.D

Pharmacy Technician Appointed by the Prime Minister:
  • Mr. Stephen Farrugia (Pharmacy Technician)

Qualified Person appointed by the Prime Minister:
  • Mr. Tony Nicholl B.Pharm

Qualified Person elected by QPs (from 23rd December 2020 til 22nd December 2023):
    • ​Mr. Jonathan Farrugia B. Pharm (Hons.);

Lay Members appointed by Prime Minister:
  • Ms. Anthea Brullo
  • Ms. Dorothy Meli

Members Elected from 21st August 2019 to 20th August 2022

Elected by Pharmacists:
  • ​Mr. Jurgen Azzopardi B.Pharm (Hons.)
  • Ms Mary Anne Ciappara B.Pharm, MPhil 
  • Ms. Elena Mifsud MPharm
  • Dr. Claire Shoemake B.Pharm (Hons.), M.Phil, M.A.(Diplomatic Studies), Dip. (Arabic Studies), Dip. SBDD (Nott.), PhD (Nott.)
  • Mr. John Vella B.Pharm (Hons.)
Elected by Pharmacy Technicians:
  • ​Mr. Michael Bajada (Pharmacy Technician)
  • Ms. Ilona Callus Dip. Pharm. Tech., BSc HRM
  • ​Mr. Joseph Busuttil B.A.(Hons.) Dip. Mangt. St.